Canadiens Trade “Twitter” Causing a Stir

As the NHL Trade Deadline rapidly approaches, the chatter and the conjecture has rapidly increased.

For the city of Montreal, it all began with the acquisition of Paul Mara. As I wrote here last week for The Hockey Writers, any trade rumours immediately bring out every critic and his brother. Opinions fly, and discussions get heated. Quite frankly, for the sake of my Twitter thread, Monday at 15h00 est can’t come soon enough.

The early hours of today were no exception to the trade rumour mill, as it slowly spread through Habs nation that a big announcement was “imminent”. That was shortly after 1am eastern. I decided that I’d give it till 2:30 before calling it quits.

Without too much surprise, I went to bed with nothing new to report.

But while I waited for this “imminent” trade to take place, I read intently through the speculation that was floating about. What surprised me was some of the crazy thoughts that people were “reporting” as pure fact. I think it’s time to get real about what potentially could be in the mix for Pierre Gauthier over the next few hours.

First off, to think that the Habs are “actively shopping Scott Gomez …” is probably the most ludicrous thing that I’ve heard over the past few hours. Canadiens fans across Habs Nation have known since his signing, that this would be a long term contract that couldn’t be moved.

In 59 games this season, Gomez has only managed to find the back of the net on 7 occasions, and assisted in 23 other goals. He also records the second worst stat on the team as a -17. Hardly appropriate numbers for a man earning $8M this season. So pray-tell, who’s going to pick up his contract for that type of output? Not even Brian Burke is that crazy.

Let’s face the facts. Scott Gomez is going to be a Canadien at minimum, for the balance of this season – and probably half of next season too. Anything shorter than that would be a miracle.

Kostitsyn seems to be the most likely candidate for the trading block. Despite the fact that he’s on target to post better numbers this season over last (read more about AK, by the numbers, in this post), his seemingly lazy play as of late has not earned him much love in Montreal. If the Habs are looking to get value from the Belarusian, it would seem now is the time to try and make it happen.

The current rumour has it that the Habs are in negotiation with the Predators as I write this; potentially reuniting Andrei with younger brother Sergei in Nashville. This of course, just like all other talk flying through the air, is completely unconfirmed.

And what of potential players that may be coming to Montreal in return? Names like Ales Hemsky, Dustin Penner (Edmonton Oilers), as well as Chris Phillips (Ottawa Senators), and Brian McCabe (Florida Panthers) have all been floating out there.

In my opinion, you can forget all of those names being in a Canadiens jersey by Monday night. Both Oilers are still under contract, and the Edmonton organization is in no hurry to move them unless they get a substantial payoff. As far as Phillips and McCabe go, both players seem to want to stay within their organizations, and with Phillips NTC – he clearly will have the final say.

So where does that leave us? Pretty much where we began at 1am this morning. There is no doubt that Gauthier is shopping, and working hard to make something come together, but what that will involve – nobody knows.

Don’t get me wrong – I like speculation. But I like intelligent speculation. So let’s stop with the Gomez trade talk. In the meantime, I have to get back to Twitter. God only knows who people have coming and going, and I could use a good laugh!

About Iain Carnegie (@emann_222 on Twitter)

I have followed the Montreal Canadiens for over twenty years, even while living in the heart of Toronto. I spent 5 years in the mecca of hockey, moving to the Plateau region of Montreal in the summer of 2009, I've been writing extensively on the Habs franchise at Bleed Blue Blanc Rouge BBBR has now moved to it's new home here at WordPress, , where content continues to matter.
This entry was posted in Eastern Conference, Montreal Canadiens, Northeastern Division, Trade Talk and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Canadiens Trade “Twitter” Causing a Stir

  1. @_jaybomb says:

    Hey dude, fun read.

    Although Edmonton is willing to part with Penner and Hemsky for draft picks. Or young talent. and when I say young I don’t mean young NHL ready talent. Habs should take advantage of the situation. My prediction is the only deal being done with the Habs is going to happen with Edmonton. It’s the only thing that makes sense.

  2. @_jaybomb says:

    I’d rather Penner than Hemsky. Hemsky would only add to the problems in MTL I fine. Penner offers what AK is supposed to be doing. Penner stood up tall for his franchise last season and IMO was shit all over this year by the Oilers. Was given minimal TOI considering he was the only thing decent last season. 66pts in a season he had no body to play with. Hemsky was injured long and early in the season and penner stood up big.. Lazy? ya , maybe this season. But would be a great fit in mtl. I think it would boost his confidence and he would be that PF we are looking for. And I think he comes at a lower price than Hemsky.

  3. Saraa26 says:

    I’m gonna be honest with you: I hate trade rumors, but I still enjoyed reading your post. I totally agree with you on Scott Gomez. I seriously don’t think he’s going anywhere. Who would want to pay 8M$ for 30 points? It’s nonesense.

    (Sorry I don’t have anything better to say :P)

  4. Jeff says:

    interesting how the Vinny Lecaviler however you spell his name…interesting how that rumor just all of a sudden disappered since Tampa’s doing well now πŸ˜‰

  5. Kyle says:

    I think the Canadiens ARE shopping Gomez…the rub is that not many teams are seriously listening!

    The rumours are the nature of the beast in this town. They’ll never stop and they only feed the machine that is the CH.

    @Jeff – the rumour of Lecavalier to Montreal died when the Canadiens picked up Gomez. Lecavalier was plan A, while Gomez was plan B (from outer space).

Leave a Reply

