Josh Gorges Has Habs Fans in a Frenzy

Gorges

So Josh Gorges is taking the Montreal Canadiens to aribtration. So why all the fuss? I’ve been reading comments on Twitter, blogs, forums, and my cell phone, where fans are startled and in a curfuffle ( I finally go to use that word in a post!).

But I’m full of curiosity as to why. When I look back on several comments on the same sites where the confusion is now being uttered, I see fans who were saying that Gorges would most likely sign for somewhere in the neighbourhood of $2.5M to $3.oM USD.

As a matter of fact, two guest panelists on this very site, when formulating their cap roster for the Canadiens in 2011-2012 considered that Gorges would sign for $3.0M and $3.25M respectively. No one challenged that thought.

So when Gorges recieved his qualifying offer from the organization at $1.3M, was anyone really thingking that he would just calmly sign on the dotted line?

His agent Kevin Epp will most certainly be doing his utmost to ensure that his client gets the best bang for his buck, and that’s exactly why they’ve slated the contract for arbitration. It’s all part of the process. Not something to be worried about.

Last season there were 19 cases slated for arbitration, and only four of those went the distance.

In the case of Gorges, it will most likely ensure that a settlement between the team and the player gets settled in a quicker fashion.

Many agree that Gorges is worth more than the qualifying offer that he recieved. Some will say that he should be happy with the money since he just came off surgery for a season ending knee injury. But the fact is – he’s a defensive gem that isn’t even near his prime yet.If you want to complain, call Andrei Markov’s agent. He’s one of the people resposible for the outlandish contracts that are getting thrown around the NHL.

I think – without doubt – that there will be an agreement between both parties long before the slated arbitration date. Look for a contract to be in the realm of $2.25M. But have no fears; Josh Gorges will be skating in the Tricolore jersey come October.

About Iain Carnegie (@emann_222 on Twitter)

I have followed the Montreal Canadiens for over twenty years, even while living in the heart of Toronto. I spent 5 years in the mecca of hockey, moving to the Plateau region of Montreal in the summer of 2009, I've been writing extensively on the Habs franchise at Bleed Blue Blanc Rouge BBBR has now moved to it's new home here at WordPress, , where content continues to matter.
This entry was posted in 2011 - 2012 NHL Season, Eastern Conference, Montreal Canadiens, NHL, NHL Cap, Northeastern Division and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Josh Gorges Has Habs Fans in a Frenzy

  1. Hello Iain,

    I would be very surprised if Josh Gorges signed for less than $3M. I had him pencilled at about $2,75M, but given recent signings (especially Marc Methot 4y at $3M), I think it’ll creep closer to $3,5M. Hence, let’s brace ourselves for another round of second-guessing the value of Gorges to the team and the decision-making of Habs management.

    Nevertheless, this case will never actually be brought before an arbitrator. Thankfully, we will not have a full summer of Carey situation, with its potent blend of hysterics and rumor-mongering (it has already started, alas, with claims that Gorges is looking for $4M/year). We’ll only suffer about three weeks worth…

    Great job as usual.

  2. ChrisGrenon says:

    Hi Iain,

    Finally, I get the pleasure of disagreeing with you. Given the last few signings, there is no way Gorges signs at 2.25M. Even with the desire to play in Montreal, this kid is going to earn upwards of 3M, probably 3.5.

    I have to agree with you on everything else. He will sign, prior to going to his hearing, and will wear la Ste-Flanelle in October.

    Great post as always!
    Chris

  3. cokeaddict says:

    I’ve shaken out all th coins from my piggy bank. I can chip in $5.26 for Josh. 😉 And trust me, if I had more, I’d give more.
    I’m not at all worried about this arbitration thing cuz I’m sure that everything will be settled. I have no guesses on money, but I think in most cases, arbitration is just part of the bargining/haggling game. I think only very few trips to the arbitration table end up with both parties walking away. Knowing that Josh wants to stay in Montreal and that the team wants Josh to stay (regardless of what the qualifying offer looked like), makes me believe this will all work out.
    Josh is ours!! And PG’s not gonna let him walk away. I’m sure of it. He kept Markov, didn’t he? And I truly believed Markov had a bigger chance of being dropped than Josh.
    Hey, PG…if you’re reading…We’re keeping Josh, k? I’ll have my people leave you a voicemail, email, memo, fax, AND send smoke signals. Don’t mess this up. 😉

Leave a Reply

