Habs Hockey and Haircuts

Written By:Iain Carnegie, BBBR

Thursday afternoon, I did the unthinkable. While sitting at my desk in the office, I picked up the phone and made the call. I knew there was a game that night. I knew full well it began at seven. But I still went ahead and booked the appointment.

At seven thirty that evening I strolled into Myst Coiffure and sat in the chair so Maggie could trim my locks. There wasn’t even a thought of hockey running through my head.

That is, until she looked at me in the mirror and mentioned something in one of our talks about me being the “hockey writer guy” that comes in to get a trim.

I immediately went about setting her straight, and I told her that I was actually missing a game to be there for that haircut.

I think her jaw dropped, followed quickly with a comment along the lines of:

Wow! I’m that special that you picked me over the Habs tonight?

So before I finish with the hockey talk, I’ll say this. Yes sir, Maggie is special. If you live in the beautiful city of Montreal and you want to get the best service, be in the best environment, and not be taken for all your worth to get some hair styling … GO TO MYST!!!

So back to the story. I get out of the chair, convince Maggie that she needs to “like” BBBR on Facebook, head for the car, and am shocked to learn from my RDS push notifications that my beloved Canadiens are leading 3-1.

But the honeymoon was short lived. By nights end the Devils would rally with 3 goals and an empty netter to sink Les Boys. Something becoming all too familiar.

Many will point to the non-call when Cole was hooked and the resulting play was the go ahead goal, but in reality the heart of the matter lies much deeper.

Throughout the entire portion of the game that I managed to watch, critical defensive errors continued to highlight the night. Incessant turnovers have become the norm, to the point that the Habs organization should consider asking Pillsbury for a sponsorship.

The powerplay is something I could ramble on about for ages, but the even strength defense continues to be mired down in its own muddy style of play. Yes that blanket statement doesn’t cover ALL Habs D-Men, but a significant portion.

I don’t remember there ever being a time that missing a portion of a game was acceptable to me. I’m sure my wife would strongly attest to that. But this faltering team is making it hard to believe.

As I punch these words out on my iPhone, there are only minutes till the puck drops against the Penguins. So as my team, seemingly doomed for the post season this year, looks to have a turn-around night and fix back to back wins, I will put number four on my back and hope.

I just hope and pray that this team doesn’t make me wish I was back in Maggie’s chair.

About Iain Carnegie (@emann_222 on Twitter)

I have followed the Montreal Canadiens for over twenty years, even while living in the heart of Toronto. I spent 5 years in the mecca of hockey, moving to the Plateau region of Montreal in the summer of 2009, I've been writing extensively on the Habs franchise at Bleed Blue Blanc Rouge BBBR has now moved to it's new home here at WordPress, , where content continues to matter.
This entry was posted in 2011 - 2012 NHL Season, Eastern Conference, Montreal Canadiens, Northeastern Division and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

