Back In Business

231368HNIC_pngWritten By:Iain Carnegie, BBBR

So apparently the two feuding sides have come to an agreement. Apparently we’re going to see rubber across the ice after all.

After weeks and weeks of billionaires fighting millionaires, we have once again been graced with the sport that we love and care for so deeply.

But where do the fans stand in all of this? We were insignificant during the lockout, for the most part, but now after the negotiating is done, and the business of hockey has been “taken care of”, there seems to be a true concern for the interest of the fans that pack the seats, and fill the pockets of both sides that were so bitterly against one another.

Hockey is not just a sport, but part of the lifestyle of so many Canadians and Americans and others across the globe. I’m not sure if it’s too little too late for many that thrive on the drop of the puck weekly.

The new CBA has granted the fans a 10 year hiatus over the continuous bickering between the NHLPA and the NHL (well – maybe 8 years with the clause), but is this enough to keep us willing to support the league with our hard earned money and support? Only time will tell.

I, for one, am happy to have hockey back. I can’t wait to see our boys in Bleu, Blanc, et Rouge don their skates and hit the ice again. I’m anxious to hear the commentators on RDS speak those fine words – “Et le but”.

But there are many bitter feelings as well. I’m not normally a fan of Gary Bettman, but I have seen the greed of the players this time around, and it’s definitely changed my perspective on the “business” of hockey.

The only people that lost during this lockout, were the fans and the many businesses around the globe, that rely on the sport to bring dollars into their pockets.

So let’s hope that we can rely on sound minds to prevail. That come eight to ten years from now, when a new CBA will be in question, that the members of both parties will have the courage to do what is right – and keep the game alive.

“Game On!”.

About Iain Carnegie (@emann_222 on Twitter)

I have followed the Montreal Canadiens for over twenty years, even while living in the heart of Toronto. I spent 5 years in the mecca of hockey, moving to the Plateau region of Montreal in the summer of 2009, I've been writing extensively on the Habs franchise at Bleed Blue Blanc Rouge BBBR has now moved to it's new home here at WordPress, , where content continues to matter.
This entry was posted in 2012-2013 NHL Season, Announcements, Montreal Canadiens, NHL, NHL Events and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Back In Business

  1. Woohoo! They’re back and you’re back!

  2. The NHL returns. I’m supposed to be excited. I should be excited. But I’m not. Instead, I’m just feeling like the dog that’s gotten kicked one too many times by its owner and is ready to snap back. Oh, I’ll still be watching the games, no doubt – I do love the game, after all – but I highly doubt I will be attending any games or buying any merchandise any time soon. It will take awhile for me to get over this feeling of resentment and support these greedy bastards with my wallet again. In the meantime, Go Habs Go, I guess.

    • I feel your same sense of aggravation Rich. I know that I will continue to watch my beloved Habs because I’m “hockey sick” – it’s a disease. But on the other hand, I’m actually pretty ticked off. I won’t attend any games this year and the league/players won’t see a dime of my money. The only exception to that might be a t-shirt for Emma.

  3. mbouf says:

    I have to agree that the only people that suffered during the lockout are the fans and small business owners/bar owners etc… and I couldn’t be happier for them that the season is back and they can make more money again.

    I think *true* fans of the game will not be able to stay away. I myself swore I’d boycott this season, if and when it ever came back, but the minute they announced the schedule I was rearranging my schedule to fit around being able to watch hockey!

    I think in some of the non-Canadian and smaller southern markets where they were already having a hard time with filling arenas, this lockout may have been enough to push even more fans out of the building. Only time will tell.

    • I’ll be extremely surprised if some of the smaller revenue teams don’t suffer tremendously. I think it goes without saying that teams like Toronto, Chicago, Detroit, and Montreal will have aggravated fans, but will still fill the seats.

      And I also agree that neighborhood restaurants and bars will be thrilled to have something to put on the screen to attract people back for revenue. Montreal’s own McLeans Pub is giving patrons a free beer with each meal to draw people back.

      Good to see you back reading and leaving your thoughtful comments.

Leave a Reply

